This is the "Home" page of the "A Baba Bibliography - Business & Enterprise" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A Baba Bibliography - Business & Enterprise   Tags: peranakan  

Last Updated: Feb 29, 2012 URL: http://libguides.nl.sg/baba-biz Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links to Other Baba Guides

A Baba Bibliography: Main
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
A select annotated listing of sources on the Peranakan Chinese in Singapore and Malaysia
45 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Language
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
88 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Material Culture
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
506 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Biographies
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
98 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Area Studies
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
110 views this year
A Baba Bibliography: Related Studies
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
117 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Literature
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Mar 2, 2012
376 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Bibilographies, Collection Guides & Resources
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
12 views this year
 

Introduction - Business & Enterprise

Though many of the Baba pioneers and leaders gained their wealth and established themselves through trade and enterprise, few articles address this aspect of the Babas specifically. Generally studies of Chinese businesses in Nanyang do not differentiate between the Babas and the rest of the Chinese until recently[1]. Although there is mention of early trade, employment[2] and businesses of the Straits Chinese at the turn of the century, most of the listed articles in this category examines the transformation of Baba culture into a profitable enterprise in the late 20th century.

 

Whether they are restaurants, Baba artefact or a skill, they review the marketability of Baba culture and the consumerisation of their material culture. Related discussion of antique and nonyaware sales are found mainly in Material Culture.



[1] Frost (2005, February) looks specifically at the role of the Babas in building networks between Nanyang and their motherland. The article is in Area Studies – Singapore.

[2] For example “China - a new field for Straits Enterprise” (1898, September)  and  “Professions for the Straits-born” (1897, December) 

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Author Profile

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip