This is the "Home" page of the "A Baba Bibliography - Language" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A Baba Bibliography - Language   Tags: baba malay, patois  

Last Updated: Feb 29, 2012 URL: http://libguides.nl.sg/baba-language Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links to Other Baba Guides

A Baba Bibliography: Main
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
A select annotated listing of sources on the Peranakan Chinese in Singapore and Malaysia
45 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Material Culture
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
514 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Biographies
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
100 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Business & Enterprise
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
33 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Area Studies
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
112 views this year
A Baba Bibliography: Related Studies
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
120 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Literature
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Mar 2, 2012
385 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Bibilographies, Collection Guides & Resources
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
12 views this year
 

Introduction - Language

Baba Malay, the patois used by the Baba community in Malacca and Singapore, is fast fading as a living language. The language, however, has been closely studied since Shellabear’s (1913) landmark article on Baba Malay. Scholars still argue whether the language is merely a patois or is actually a dialect of Malay. Besides language structure, the social context of use is also examined. Penang Hokkien is included in the bibliographic listings as studies show it is an acculturated language influenced by the Peranakans in Penang with a greater inclination toward Hokkien rather than Malay. The language section begins with listings of articles dealing with language issues ranging from the study of Baba Malay to the enforced Mandarin classes in the 1980s and its impact on the Baba Malay-speaking community.

Besides highlighting Baba dictionaries, the section Dictionaries and word-lists include listings and analysis of terms. Many of the vocabularies and lists are pre-war titles whereas the Baba dictionaries are recent publications of primarily one man, Gwee Thian Hock. Earlier dictionaries of colloquial Malay are not included as these represent simplified Malay rather than Baba Malay. However, lists of Malay terms incorporated into Chinese and vice-versa, particularly from Malacca or of the early 19th century are included as they may reflect  aspects of the Baba language.

The linguistic and language studies examine both written and spoken Baba. The social context and linguistic form of the language are analysed. Penang Hokkien studies are included although comparisons between Baba Malay and Penang Hokkien remain limited. Most of the titles are academic works only available at NUS. Area Studies and Related Studies have related linguistic studies such at Teo’s (2003) work on the language of the Kelantan Chinese and Ravichandran’s (1996) on the Malaccan Chetty.

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Subject Guide

 

Note

* For internal Circulation Only. Write-ups are taken from book covers unless otherwise stated.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip