This is the "Home" page of the "A Baba Bibliography: Related Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

A Baba Bibliography: Related Studies  

Last Updated: Feb 29, 2012 URL: http://libguides.nl.sg/baba-relatedstudies Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Quick Links to Other Baba Guides

A Baba Bibliography: Main
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
A select annotated listing of sources on the Peranakan Chinese in Singapore and Malaysia
45 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Language
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
92 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Material Culture
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
514 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Biographies
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
100 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Business & Enterprise
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
33 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Area Studies
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
112 views this year
A Baba Bibliography - Bibilographies, Collection Guides & Resources
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
12 views this year
 

Introduction - Related Studies

Increasingly, studies of related acculturated communities are being compared with the Babas of the Straits. The acculturated Chinese in Kelantan and Terengganu are sometimes referred to as Peranakan–like Chinese in new studies. The Thai Peranakans have recently been of scholarly interest. Many trace their roots to the Penang Baba community, particularly those from Phuket. The Indian Peranakans in Malacca known as the Chettys are racially distinct from the Babas – the Chinese Peranakans. However, they share common challenges faced by the Babas of an acculturated community which trace their beginnings in Malacca and are thus often compared with the Babas.

Subject Guide

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip