GE 2006GE 2001GE 1997GE 1991GE 1988GE 1984GE 1980GE 1976GE 1972GE 1968GE 1963GE 1959GE 1955GE 1951GE 1948
This is the "Introduction" page of the "Singapore General Elections" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Singapore General Elections   Tags: english, general elections, singapore, singapore politics  

A guide to resouces on General Election available at the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library, Singapore
Last Updated: Mar 13, 2013 URL: http://libguides.nl.sg/ge Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Introduction Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Let us know who you are







 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 

Introduction

The history of General Elections in Singapore can be traced as far back as 1948 when an election was held to elect six members to the Legislative Council. From 1948 to the last general election held in 2006, Singapore has experienced a total of 15 general elections. Singapore's political system is governed by the People's Action Party for large part of its nationhood. Many books and articles have been written on the topic, and this guide introduces some of the resources on General Elections. 

This guide is compiled based on previous general elections compilations. It includes citations of books, newspapers articles, websites, journals, newsletters, and e-databases  covering information on political parties participating in the general elections, electoral boundaries and candidates, electoral legislations, and lastly, how to access the resources in this guide. All publications cited in this guide are based on the current holdings of the National Library Board libraries, specifically the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library, Singapore and Southeast Asian collections.

Contents

By-elections are omitted in this Resource Guide, unless they are cited in the resources listed.

This list is not an exhaustive list of resources on the topic. However, we hope that it will serve as a starting point for further research and discovery.

 

 

Compiler's Notes

Books and texts are often mainstays of resource guides as these provide introductory and comprehensive information on a particular topic. In the creation of this libguide however, effort was also made to recommend resources that are highly accessible, such as, ebooks, journal and newpaper articles, authoritative websites, among others. Please find below a brief write-up of the resource formats, as well as, how to access them.

  • Print materials from both the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library, as well as, NLB's Public Libraries. The print materials highlighted in this guide include books, articles from periodicals, ephemera and posters. Simply click on the links to view the holdings and the availability of the items. Books recommended in this guide can be reserved online and brought to the library branch of your choice for a small fee of $1.55 (just click on "Reserve this item").
  • Journal Articles from the library's eResources service (http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg) is another good source of information for the topic. Proquest Central and JSTOR databases are accessible from home, whereas Factiva, Ebscohost Academic Premier are available from libraries. You have to be a Digital Library member before you can access the databases. If you are not a member yet, you may register at the eResources page free of charge. Use these keywords to assist your search: election, Singapore, polls, general election. Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) also help to limit the results.
  • Newspaper articles are available from the Factiva database and the NewspaperSG database. Factiva is available via our eResources service and articles within can be accessed in the same manner as that for journal articles (described above). Newspapers from NewspaperSG can be accessed via http://newspapers.nl.sg. Articles from 1831 - 1989 can be accessed from home (direct links to the articles are provided) while articles from 1989 - 2006 can only be accessed onsite at the libraries.
  • Audiovisual materials and microfilm from Lee Kong Chian Reference Library should be viewed at the premises. For AV materials, users may select their AV materials from the open shelves at Level 11 and proceed to the Audiovisual room located at the same floor of the National Library building. Microfilm users may select their microfilm either from the shelves or approach the counter staff for assistance on microfilm retrieval. Users need to fill up a form at the counter before proceeding to the microfilm room to view the microfilms. Viewing of AV materials and microfilm are free of charge.

For more detailed information on accessing our print resources and electronic databases, please go to the section on "Accessing the Resources" in this same guide.

 

Authors

Compiled by Gladys Low

Edited by Noryati A. Samad

Contact Info:
Singapore and Southeast Asia Collection
Lee Kong Chian Reference Library
National Library Singapore
100 Victoria Street
#07-01 National Library Building
Singapore 188064

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip