This is the "Accessing the Resources" page of the "Accessing LKCRL Resources" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Accessing LKCRL Resources  

Last Updated: Jun 13, 2013 URL: http://libguides.nl.sg/LKCRL Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis
Accessing the Resources Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

How to access the Print Materials

Introduction

You can search the library catalogue (for physical materials) in the library and from home (http://catalogue.nlb.gov.sg). The easy search function allows you to search/browse by author, title, keyword, subject and ISBN/ISSN whereas the advanced search allows you to narrow your searches to specific media types or language holdings. In both instances, you will also be able to limit your search to search only specific libraries by clicking on the "limit by branch" option.

To search Lee Kong Chian Reference Library's Holdings

If you wish to search for only materials available in the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library, please always click on the "Limit by Branch" button at the bottom of the page, after you have keyed in your search term. This brings you to a new page whereby you will be able to select the library of your choice. Choose "Lee Kong Chian Reference Library" and select "yes" under the "Display only items available in the selected branch below" and then click on search.

Things to note:

Once you have identified the title that you need, please double check through the following information and write down the necessary info:

i. The "Status" of the item: the item is not available in the library, if the status displayed is "in transit", "in process" or "not ready for loan".

ii. Double check that the item is in Lee Kong Chian Reference Library under "Branch".

iii. Write down the Location Code and the Call Number of the item. This helps you to locate the item within Lee Kong Chian Reference Library. Please refer to the table below for more information (Note: The table below reflects the new arrangement of the collections that will be effective from 10th August 2010. In the meantime, please feel free to approach the counter staff for help in locating the books.)

All featured books and periodicals are located at the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library.

In each citation, each book and periodical is indicated with a location code and call number for easy reference (e.g.: RSEA 332 ESS). Please refer to the table below to locate the materials. (Note: The table below reflects the new arrangement of the collections that will be effective from 10th August 2010. In the meantime, please feel free to approach the counter staff for help in locating the books.)

Level Location  Code Type of Collection
11 - Singapore and Southeast Asia (English) Collections

RSING, RSEA, JRSING, YRSING, RAV, RCLOS*, RRARE

* Closed access materials. Point of access is via L11.

All SING/SEA English materials except: Arts and Literature (which are on L8)

Microfilms

Posters

Maps

AV collection

10 - National Library Gallery

RDTYS, RDTSH, RDKSC*

* Point of access for collection is via L11.

Donors’ Collections

Donors’ Gallery

Exhibition Gallery

9 - Chinese, Malay and Tamil Resources RSING, RSEA, RCO, RART, RBUS, RCR All Chinese, Malay and Tamil materials
8 - Arts & Social Sciences RART, RSING, RSEA, R, RDET

All Arts collections including Singapore & SEA

Singapore&SEA English literature

Non-SING/SEA Social Sciences collection, including literature·

Education prospectuses

Edwin Thumboo Collection

French Corner

7 - Business and Science & Technology Collections RSING-[AR], RBUS, R

Business, Science & Technology collections

Annual Reports

Standards

Bloomberg and SGX IRIS stations

 

How to access the Databases

To begin using databases and other electronic resources, you will first need to register as a Digital Library member (registration is free-of-charge) at our eResources webpage (http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg/). Please note the following conditions:

i. Not all e-resources are accessible from home. Please refer to the access rights stated per resource on the eResources webpage.

ii. If you are NOT a Singaporean/PR, you will not be able to access any of the e-resources from home(even those that are labelled as accessible from home on the webpage).

iii. Please log in to the eResources portal to use the resources. Materials available in the library's eResources (e.g., articles in specific databases) may come up in your searches in Google, Yahoo, MSN, etc. However, you will NOT be able to access those information if you are not logged in and searching from the eResources portal.

When you face problems registering or logging in, please contact 63323255 or send an email to helpdesk@nlb.gov.sg.

If you wish to find information in the databases but am not sure where to begin, or need recommendations on which databases to use, please use the "Ask A Librarian" function or send an email to ref@library.nlb.gov.sg for help. The librarian will get back to you within three working days.

 

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip