This is the "Home" page of the "euro Collection Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

euro Collection Guide  

This collection guide presents books, databases and websites for all interested in learning more about the euro and its pivotal role in the pursuit of common economic and political objectives within its Community.
Last Updated: Jul 9, 2009 URL: http://libguides.nl.sg/eurocollectionguide Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

 

 

Welcome to euro Collection Guide!
 

Download Guide

You may like to download a copy of the resource guide for your own reference.

Publisher: National Library Board Singapore, 2009
Type: Bibliography
File Details: 870kb/pdf

 

Introduction

€, inspired by the Greek letter epsilon with its parallel lines to represent the stability of the euro, was conceived as an instrument to foster European citizenship.

The euro (EUR), a new trans-European currency, was created on 1 January 1999 when the European Union (EU) launched the final stage of Economic and Monetary Union (EMU). 11 Member States adopted it on that day, namely: Belgium, Germany, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal and Finland. The euro became a physical reality across Europe on 1 January 2002 when its physical coins and banknotes entered circulation.

The euro is a political initiative to bring forth stability and prosperity among Member States. [The Final Objective] of the 1970 Werner Report, the plan for the creation of EMU, stated “economic and monetary union will make it possible to realize an area within which goods and services, people and capital will circulate freely and without competitive distortions, without thereby giving rise to structural or regional disequilibrium. The implementation of such a union will effect a lasting improvement in welfare in the Community and will reinforce the contribution of the Community to economic and monetary equilibrium in the world. It presupposes the cooperation of the various economic and social groups so that by the combined effect of the market forces and the policies elaborated and consciously applied by the authorities responsible there may be achieved simultaneously satisfactory growth, a high level of employment, and stability. In addition, the Community policy should tend to reduce the regional and social disparities and ensure the protection of the environment”.

This collection guide presents books, databases and websites for all interested in learning more about the euro and its pivotal role in the pursuit of common economic and political objectives within its Community.

 

Table of Contents

Introduction

Printed Resources

Digital Resources

Freely Available Web Resources

 

Footnotes

By Elizabeth Lam Yen Sze, National Library Singapore

For further assistance, please email: ref@nlb.gov.sg or SMS: +65 9178 7792.

All rights reserved. National Library Board 2009

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Elizabeth Lam Yen Sze
 

Rate this Collection Guide

We would like to hear from you:
Very Good
Good
Average
Poor
Very Poor

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip