Concepts
The Credo reference database - available from NLB eResources - contains definitions from digitised versions dictionaries such :
- The Dictionary of Government and Politics
- The Blackwell Dictionary of Political Science
- A Dictionary of Contemporary History - 1945 to the present
- Collins Dictionary of Economics
Key Concepts:
- free trade
- protectionism
- interdependence
- independence
- dependence
- capitalism
- market economy
- globalisation
- trade war
- trade
- liberalisation
- sustainable development
- regionalisation
- integration
Editorial Notes
Books and texts are often mainstays of resource guides as these provide introductory and comprehensive information on a particular topic. In the creation of this libguide however, effort was also made to recommend resources that are highly accessible, such as, ebooks, journal and newpaper articles, authoritative websites, among others. Please find below a brief write-up of the resource formats, as well as, how to access them.
- Print materials from
both the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library, as well as, NLB's Public
Libraries. Just click on the given links to activate NLB's online
catalogue showing availability of the items. Apart for the reference books at the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library, books recommended in this guide can be reserved online and brought to the library branch of your choice for a small fee of $1.55 (just click on "Reserve this item").
- Journal articles from
the library's eResources service (http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg). Most
of the recommended journal articles are from Proquest
Central and JSTOR as these databases are accessible from home. Just click on the given links to be brought to the relevant section of the eResources site. Thereafter, register (if you are new to the service) or log-in >> click on the relevant database (e.g.,
JSTOR, Proquest Central) >> conduct a search using the article's title.
- Newspaper articles from the Factiva database, as well as, the NewspaperSG database. Factiva is available via our eResources service and articles within can be accessed in the same manner as that for journal articles (described above). Newspapers from NewspaperSG can be accessed via (http://newspapers.nl.sg). Articles from 1831 - 1989 can be accessed from home (direct links to the articles are provided) while those after 1989 can only be accessed onsite at the libraries.
- Embedded videos. A picture speaks thousand words, what more a video? Click the play button on the embedded videos (from reputable sources) for some visual learning.
- Web resources. Relevant websites on the topic, as well as, journal articles accessible via the web.
This guide highlights items in the collection, and is thus not intended to be comprehensive. Interested readers should search the NLB catalogue for more works.
Reference Librarian |
Contact Info Contact Info: Lee Kong Chian Reference Library National Library Singapore 100 Victoria Street #07-01 National Library Building Singapore 188064 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Information Literacy |
Feedback
Let us know who you are
Share your links
If you know of any interesting resource not featured in this guide, please share with us! It's easy, just click below :)




Submit
Loading...
