Let us know who you are
Feedback
Introduction
This LibGuide is divided into 5 major sections:
- Places - covers the architectural and geospatial aspects of Little India, and includes links to NLB & external resources on historical & religious buildings, street names, etc.
- People - highlights famous personalities and pioneers, as well as unsung heroes who have made contributations to the development of Little India. Included in this section are articles and flim clips about the lives and memories of those who have resided or worked in Little India.
- Events - Apart from festivities and religious activities like Deepavali and Thaipusam, the links in this section range from the mundane to the unusual.
- Icons/Objects - This section covers all things iconic about Little India: from well-known brands like PGP, to day-to-day objects, to unique artefacts.
- NLB Books & Films - To complement the links to online resources and websites, we have also compiled a handy list of book and AV titles for your visit to the Libary.
The MOE Interactive Heritage Trial for Little India include the following nodes:
- Serangoon Road
- Buffalo Road
- Little India Arcade
- Campbell Lane
- Race Course Road
- Dunlop Street
- Kampung Kapor Road
- Veerasamy Road
- Little India Arts Belt
- Sri Veeramakaliamman Temple
- Sri Lakshminarayan Temple
- Sakya Muni Buddha Gaya Temple
- Leong San See Buddhist Temple
- Kampong Kapor Methodist Church
- Abdul Gafoor Mosque
- P Govindasamy Pillai
Can you identify the above nodes (but omitting the last node on P Govindasamy Pillai) in the map shown below? You can view a larger version by clicking on the image below:
Websites
The following websites provide a good overview of Little India.
Flickr slideshow: Little India
The photos displayed in the slide show below are pulled from Flickr.com based on the search results for the phrase, "Little Inda". Please refer to the specific pages in Flickr for copyright information.
YouTube videos
There are many YouTube videos on Little India. We have selected the best ones in terms of production quality, i.e. film clips which are produced professionally or amateur videos which are well-shot and edited.
Editorial Notes
This series of library guides on our heritage sites sets out to identify sources in the National Library Singapore, where information can be found on the places, people, events and icons of these locations.
Books and texts are often mainstays of resource guides as these provide introductory and comprehensive information on a particular topic. In the creation of this libguide however, effort was also made to recommend resources that are highly accessible, such as, ebooks, journal and newpaper articles, authoritative websites, among others. Please find below a brief write-up of the resource formats, as well as, how to access them.
- Print materials from both the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library, as well as, NLB's Public Libraries. Just click on the given links to activate NLB's online catalogue showing availability of the items. Apart for the reference books at the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library, books recommended in this guide can be reserved online and brought to the library branch of your choice for a small fee of $1.55 (just click on "Reserve this item").
- Journal articles from the library's eResources service (http://eresources.nlb.gov.sg). Most of the recommended journal articles are from Proquest Central and JSTOR as these databases are accessible from home. Just click on the given links to be brought to the relevant section of the eResources site. Thereafter, register (if you are new to the service) or log-in >> click on the relevant database (e.g., JSTOR, Proquest Central) >> conduct a search using the article's title.
- Newspaper articles from the Factiva database, as well as, the NewspaperSG database. Factiva is available via our eResources service and articles within can be accessed in the same manner as that for journal articles (described above). Newspapers from NewspaperSG can be accessed via (http://newspapers.nl.sg). Articles from 1831 - 1989 can be accessed from home (direct links to the articles are provided) while those after 1989 can only be accessed onsite at the libraries.
- Embedded videos. A picture speaks thousand words, what more a video? Click the play button on the embedded videos (from reputable sources) for some visual learning.
- Web resources. Relevant websites on the topic, as well as, journal articles accessible via the web.
This guide highlights items in the collection, and is thus not intended to be comprehensive. Interested readers should search the NLB catalogue for more works.
Reference Librarian |
Contact Info Contact Info: Lee Kong Chian Reference Library National Library Singapore 100 Victoria Street #07-01 National Library Building Singapore 188064 Send Email Links: Profile & Guides Subjects: Information Literacy |
Share your links
If you know of any interesting resource not featured in this guide, please share with us! It's easy, just click below :)




Submit
Loading...
