This is the "Home" page of the "Singapore Literature in English: An Annotated Bibliography" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Singapore Literature in English: An Annotated Bibliography   Tags: english, literature, singapore english literature  

Last Updated: Jun 14, 2011 URL: http://libguides.nl.sg/sgenglishlit Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Foreword

The National Library Board (NLB) is pleased to publish Singapore Literature in English : An Annotated Bibliography with the Centre for Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Nanyang Technological University (NTU). Compiled by Professor Koh Tai Ann of the School of Humanities and Social Sciences, NTU, this bibliography is the first annotated bibliography on Singapore Literature in English, and is also the most complete to date.

The National Library has supported the development of the literary arts in Singapore over the years through our collections, publications and programmes. In 1976, the Library published its first bibliography on creative writing in English. Since then, bibliographies on local creative writing have been published in 1982, 1986, 1991 and 1994. Thus it is timely that information about writers and works have been brought up-to-date in this new publication. The additions reflect the variety and quality of Singapore Literature in English which have emerged in the last 14 years. It also reflect the growth in the Library’s collection, especially in the area of unpublished manuscripts. As part of the Libraryís endeavour to preserve and make accessible our literary heritage, we welcome donations of Singapore literary works from individuals and organisations.

Singapore Literature in English forms an indispensable part of our culture and identity. Whether writing on public or private themes, the stories, poems and plays give expression to the nation’s and individual’s consciousness, imagination and experience. They enrich our lives by engaging and challenging us with the issues that they present, and by delighting and stirring us with the power and beauty of language and expressions.

I wish to thank Professor Koh for taking on the momentous task of putting this bibliography together, and for sharing her knowledge on the subject through this publication. My thanks also extends to the Centre for Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, NTU, for co-publishing this bibliography with us, and to the staff of National Library Singapore for their contributions towards this publication and the ensuing symposium “Seeking an Audience: Singapore Literature in English”.

We hope this publication will benefit researchers and the general public interested in Singapore Literature, as well as encourage many more to read and develop an appreciation of our literature.

 

Dr. N. Varaprasad
Chief Executive
National Library Board Singapore

 

Author

Professor Koh Tai Ann
Compiler and Editor
Division of English
School of Humanities and Social Sciences
Nanyang Technological University, Singapore


For further assistance, please ask the staff at the Information Counter or email us at ref@nlb.gov.sg

 

Copyrights

All Rights Reserved. National Library Board and Nanyang Technological University 2008.

First published in 2008 as a printed copy. Uploaded in 2011.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip