This is the "Home" page of the "Traditional Applied Arts of Southeast Asia" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Traditional Applied Arts of Southeast Asia   Tags: arts, asia, crafts, designs, english, southeast asia  

A selection of books on traditional designs and motifs in textiles, basketry, ceramics, jewelry, metalwork, woodwork, and architectural ornamentation.
Last Updated: Jun 14, 2011 URL: http://libguides.nl.sg/traditional_art_southeast_asia Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Introduction

The applied arts, in the context of art history, are traditionally considered to be the design or decoration of functional objects, encompassing a wide variety of items of a utilitarian or commercial nature. This is distinguished from the fine arts, which are evaluated in terms of their purely aesthetic value, and possibly symbolic or spiritual meaning. Traditional art styles and forms thus straddle both the worlds of design and production, as well as the deeply cultural, sometimes personal realm of creative expression. Over the years, researchers from the fields of anthropology and art history have studied the importance of these works in the context of the respective cultures, and increasingly, fine artists have incorporated the styles and motifs into their work, particularly when exploring issues of personal or national identity. Modern day designers, too, often hark back to traditional styles of all types of objects, to create items ranging from fashion to cookware to housing.


This bibliography serves as an introduction to art history students, designers, and artists who wish to understand more about the vast array of traditional art forms practiced throughout Southeast Asia. It includes critical analyses, historical and cultural overviews, and catalogues of traditional artworks. To view the booklists by country, click on the tabs above. To view the detailed catalogue entry, click on the title of the book.

Other Resource Guides on Arts

A Baba Bibliography - Material Culture
by Bonny Tan - Last Updated Feb 29, 2012
Ancient Art in Thailand
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
Andreas Gursky
by Hameedah M IBRAHIM - Last Updated May 6, 2012
This Libguide provides information resources from books, databases and websites petaining to Andreas Gursky.
Anthony Poon
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
Artists' Books
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
Biennials & Triennials
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
Chinese Kilns
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
Chinese Pottery & Porcelain
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
Chng Seok Tin
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
This Resource Guide serves as a guide to help you locate resources on Chng Seok Tin available at the National Library (Lee Kong Chian Reference Library), the Singapore Art Museum (SAM) and the artist’s personal collection.
Chua Ek Kay
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
Chua Soo Bin
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated Apr 30, 2012
Copper Engraving
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
Cubism
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
Design Thinking
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Oct 25, 2010
Applying a designer's problem-solving methodology to business innovation
Foo Tee Jun
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated May 9, 2012
Georgette Chen
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
History of Art in Italy
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
History of Art in Russia
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
Interior Design
by Alicia Yeo, Chiew Boon Tay, Joyce Lim - Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
Iskandar Jalil
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
Resource guide on Iskandar Jalil.
Lim Tze Peng
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated Jun 19, 2011
Modern Art in Indonesia
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Apr 20, 2011
Modern Art in Singapore
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
Modern Art in the Philippines
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
Modern Art of Southeast Asia: a guide to selected resources in the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library
by Chiew Boon Tay, Kah Kit Cheong, Roberta Balagopal, Vivien Tan, Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
This resource guide focuses on publications documenting the development of modern art in Southeast Asia. Covering the 10 countries in the region, it includes annotations on books, journals etc. that are available in the Lee Kong Chian Reference Library.
Modern Sculpture
by Alicia Yeo - Last Updated Dec 6, 2011
Ng Eng Teng
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
Resource Guide on local artist, Ng Eng Teng
Singapore Artists: a select annotated bibliography, Volume 1: The Nanyang Artists
by Chiew Boon Tay, Alicia Yeo, Kah Kit Cheong, Vivien Tan, Roberta Balagopal - Last Updated Feb 18, 2012
A bibliography of resources on the Nanyang artists, ranging from books, journals to newspapers in the National Library, Singapore's collections (including sources in English, Chinese and Malay).
Sound Art: Art & Music
by Joyce Lim, Roberta Balagopal - Last Updated Dec 9, 2011
Tay Chee Toh
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated May 10, 2012
Teo Eng Seng
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
Resource guide on Singapore artist, Teo Eng Seng
Thomas Yeo
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated Apr 19, 2011
Traditional Applied Arts of Southeast Asia
by Roberta Balagopal - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
A selection of books on traditional designs and motifs in textiles, basketry, ceramics, jewelry, metalwork, woodwork, and architectural ornamentation.
Universal Design
by Alicia Yeo, Chiew Boon Tay, Joyce Lim - Last Updated Jun 14, 2011
Wee Beng Chong
by NORA Editorial Team - Last Updated Apr 19, 2011

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Roberta Balagopal, Senior Librarian
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip